Peiqing Qian, MD

Qian Peiqing
  • American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology
Specialties
Neurology
Accepting New Patients
Patient Rating

4.4 / 5

BIOGRAPHY

Education

Medical School: Shanghai Second Medical University
Residency: Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Mo.
Fellowship: Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Mo.

Board Certification

  • American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology

Gender

Female

Languages

  • English
  • Chinese - Mandarin

Personal Interests

Music, culture, cooking and gardening

PHILOSOPHY OF CARE

To provide her patients guidance and support to effectively manage their conditions with better quality of life

RATINGS AND COMMENTS

4.4 out of 5 (85 Ratings, 17 Comments)

50

10/31/2017
Appointments are largely a repeat of past info or things I already know. Dr. Qian is very nice but follow up once I leave is severely lacking. She doesn't seem to remember that I do not live locally.
100

09/14/2017
:}
80

09/12/2017
Terms used in description of condition were new to me and I needed to get clarifications on many of them. The diagnosis of my condition was not noted on the final summary of the consultation. The concern was that I may have MS. It appears that I do not have MS, but his was not noted on the summary. Additionally no consult summary was put on MyChart.
100

09/11/2017
She's the best, she really took time to answer my questions and make sure I was clear on next steps. THANK YOU!!!
80

09/11/2017
I did feel she was trying to find other reasons for my symptoms I had encountered a month prior, but it was classic signs of fatigue in which I asked, could it just be fatigue since I knew what triggered it?
90

07/31/2017
The provider is specifically focused on diseases of the brain and spinal cord. My issue seems to be nerve root related, not internal to the spine and brain blood barrier system, so we were not a perfect fit for what I needed. The provider explained all of this to me and gave me a thorough and careful exam and I was very happy with her service, it just was not quite the perfect specialty for my issue.
100

07/25/2017
This doctor is a very compassionate, professional, knowledgeable and thorough doctor. I am lucky to have her and would refer anyone with MS to visit her!
30

06/28/2017
Dr. Qian was kind and asked me a few personal questions. She was absolutely friendly enough and I appreciated her attempt to put me at ease at the beginning of our conversation. However, I had a very hard time understanding and following our conversation as pertained to next steps, what to expect, her thinking, etc. I was there to potentially receive a significant diagnosis and left completely bewildered as to what was next for me and I didn't feel like she was tracking with me regarding my symptoms and test results.
0

06/28/2017
I don't want to see Dr. Qian again. She told me she doesn't believe I have MS, after four neurologists have confirmed my diagnosis during the past 17 years [...]. I went to Dr. Qian to get on the new MS treatment [...]. After looking at my MRI she said the lesions in my brain were "undefined lesions" and not MS lesions. I was shocked and frustrated because I have been to 4 neurologists already who think otherwise. She said she would not treat me until I had a follow up visit with Dr. [...] (who diagnosed me with optic neuritis earlier this year). I sent Dr. [...] and email requesting to see someone else.
90

06/26/2017
Dr. Qian took time to explain next steps in terms of treatment. It was a little challenging to digest all of that information immediately after getting a diagnosis, but I was happy to have that information regardless.
90

06/05/2017
Enjoyed her very much.
50

03/29/2017
I feel I am not given any options to try to feel better.
70

03/06/2017
I have told anyone I know with MS to go here!
100

11/17/2016
Dr. Qian is a very kind lady and explains concerns with the ability to help me understand.
40

11/09/2016
During the time spent with the Dr. she mentioned stroke repeatedly (my husband and I both clearly heard her say that) however, nothing in the notes said anything about a stroke. When I e-mailed the nurse she checked with the Dr. and the Dr. said no stroke. But, she clearly said that as she repeatedly circled an area on the MRI that she was showing us. The MRI review that she showed this time was totally different than the past so there was no comparison to what we looked at last time we were there. She was quick to decide that it had nothing to MS and that it was small vessel disease. And we felt like we were brushed off. This was our 3rd visit with her and the other 2 appointments were so much more informational. I felt like since there was no easy answer she was done with me, don't let the door hit you on the way out. I am frustrated and felt very let down by the Dr. If I was EVER to go back to see her I would take a tape recorder so that I could have her listen back to what she told us, since she obviously didn't remember.
80

11/08/2016
My wife accompanies me to appointments so she can take notes on what Dr. Peiqing Qian is telling us. The problem we found on the latest visit was that Dr. Qian speaks rapidly, and also processes the information she is seeing on the MRIs that I had done earlier the same day on the spot while we were in the office. We are more comfortable with having the analysis and diagnosis pretty much in hand before we come in to hear the results, so it was odd to hear some uncertainty as Dr. Qian read the MRI results from this time compared to a year ago when I was first diagnosed with PPMS. [...] The other key comment I want to make is this: many of the MS patients being treated at Swedish may not be able to process a lot of detailed information in a rapid-fire manner of delivery, so I suggest your staff need to 'slow down' a bit and tailor the delivery of information to the actual people you are seeing. I think this will enable people like me and my wife (who both are pretty articulate, and my mental functions remain high though my body is not doing so well with walking, balance, etc.) to make more sense of what we are being told.
100

10/19/2016
Dr Qian provides excellent medical care for me. For the first time since I've been seeing her she seemed to have less time to spend with me. However, she still gave me her full attention while seeing me and answered all my questions.

CLINICAL EXPERIENCE

Clinical Interests
  • abducens nerve disease
  • abducens nerve injury
  • abducens nerve palsy and paresis
  • abnormal coordination
  • abnormal eeg
  • abnormal emg
  • abnormal neuroimaging
  • abnormal reflexes
  • abnormal twitching
  • abscess central nervous system
  • absence epilepsy
  • accessory nerve disease
  • accessory nerve injury
  • acoustic neurofibromatosis
  • acute inflammatory demyelinating polyradiculoneuropathy
  • alcohol withdrawal
  • alcoholic encephalopathy
  • alogia
  • ambulatory eeg
  • amnesia
  • amyloid neuropathy
  • aneurysm
  • anosmia
  • anoxic encephalopathy
  • aphasia
  • arteriovenous malformation
  • ataxia
  • athetoid cerebral palsy
  • aura
  • autoimmune meningitis
  • autonomic dysreflexia
  • autonomic nervous system disorders
  • autonomic neuropathy
  • bacterial meningitis
  • beriberi
  • berry aneurysm
  • brachial plexopathy
  • brachial plexus lesion
  • brachycephaly
  • brain concussion
  • bulbar palsy
  • carotid stenosis
  • carpal tunnel syndrome
  • cauda equina syndrome
  • causalgia of lower limb
  • causalgia of upper limb
  • cerebellar anomaly
  • cerebellar ataxia
  • cerebellar disease
  • cerebral aneurysm
  • cerebral anomaly
  • cerebral arteritis
  • cerebral atherosclerosis
  • cerebral contusion
  • cerebral cyst
  • cerebral edema
  • cerebral hemorrhage
  • cerebral hernia
  • cerebral laceration
  • cerebral lipidosis
  • cerebral palsy
  • cerebrospinal fluid abnormality
  • cerebrospinal fluid leak
  • cerebrovascular accident
  • cerebrovascular disorders
  • cerebrovascular insufficiency
  • charcot-marie-tooth disease
  • childhood epilepsy
  • chorea
  • choreoathetosis
  • chronic headache
  • chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuritis
  • chronic post-traumatic headache
  • ciliary neuralgia
  • circadian rhythm disorder
  • cluster headache
  • common peroneal nerve lesion
  • concussive seizure
  • convulsion
  • corticobasal degeneration
  • cranial nerve diseases
  • cranial nerve disorders
  • cranial nerve injuries
  • cranial nerve palsy
  • creutzfeldt jakob syndrome
  • degenerative brain disorder
  • degenerative disorders of the balance organs
  • delirium
  • demyelinating disease
  • diabetic neuropathy
  • diabetic polyneuropathies
  • diagnostic lumbar puncture
  • diffuse axonal injury
  • diplegia of upper limbs
  • disorder of balance
  • disorder of body awareness
  • disturbance of skin sensation
  • dizziness
  • drop attack
  • drug-induced acute dystonia
  • dysarthria
  • dysautonomia
  • dyskinesia
  • dysphagia
  • dysphonia
  • dystonia
  • echoencephalogram abnormal
  • eeg telemetry
  • electroencephalography
  • encephalitis
  • encephalopathies
  • enlarged optic nerve
  • enlarged ventricle
  • epilepsy
  • essential tremor
  • executive dysfunction
  • extrapyramidal disorders
  • exvacuohydrocephalus
  • facial asymmetry
  • facial nerve palsy and paresis
  • facial paresis
  • facial spasm
  • facial tingling
  • familial ataxia
  • fasciculations
  • femoral nerve lesion
  • flaccid hemiplegia
  • focal dystonia
  • foot drop
  • friedreich ataxia
  • frontal lobe disinhibition
  • functional quadriplegia
  • fungal meningitis
  • ganglioneuroblastoma
  • generalized seizures
  • genetic dystonia
  • glossopharyngeal neuralgia
  • grand mal status epilepticus
  • guillain barre syndrome
  • handwriting tremor
  • head trauma
  • headache
  • hearing loss
  • hemiatrophy
  • hemicrania continua
  • hemidystonia
  • hemineglect
  • hemiparesis
  • hemiplegia
  • hereditary sensory neuropathy
  • hereditary spastic paraplegia
  • herpes zoster
  • hiv dementia
  • hiv neuropathy
  • hydrocephalus
  • hydromyelia
  • hypertonia
  • hypoglossal nerve disease
  • hypoglossal nerve injury
  • hypotonia
  • idiopathic transverse myelitis
  • inclusion body myositis
  • infantile cerebral palsy
  • infectious neuritis
  • injury to brain
  • intention tremor
  • intermittent cerebral ischemia
  • intermittent tremor
  • intracranial arterial occlusion
  • intracranial hemorrhages
  • intracranial hypertension
  • isolated central nervous system vasculitis
  • jc virus
  • late effect of spinal cord injury
  • late effects of poliomyelitis
  • lateral sclerosis
  • leg numbness
  • leg weakness
  • lesion of popliteal nerve
  • lesion of sciatic nerve
  • leukodystrophy
  • lip droop
  • lissencephaly
  • lobar atrophy of brain
  • locked-in syndrome
  • loss of consciousness
  • lumbar puncture
  • lumbosacral plexus lesion
  • macrocephaly
  • marcus gunn phenomenon
  • maternal neurologic disorders
  • meningitis
  • meralgia paresthetica
  • metabolic brain disorders
  • microcephaly
  • migraine
  • migraine treatment
  • mononeuritis
  • mononeuritis multiplex
  • monoplegia
  • monoplegia of upper limb
  • motor neuron disease
  • movement disorders
  • moyamoya
  • multiple sclerosis
  • multiple system atrophy
  • multisystemic disseminated toxoplasmosis
  • muscle spasticity
  • muscle weakness
  • muscular dystrophy
  • myelitis
  • myelomeningocele
  • myelopathy
  • myoclonic seizures
  • myoclonus
  • nerve diseases
  • nerve root disorder
  • nerve sheath tumor
  • nervous system disorders
  • neuralgic amyotrophy
  • neuritis
  • neuroborreliosis
  • neurofibromatosis
  • neurological disorders
  • neurometabolic disorder
  • neuromuscular ultrasound
  • neuropathy
  • neurosarcoidosis
  • nonepileptic event
  • nonruptured cerebral aneurysm
  • normal pressure hydrocephalus
  • numbness
  • occipital neuralgia
  • olfactory nerve disease
  • optic migraines
  • optic nerve and pathway injury
  • optic nerve disease
  • orthostatic hypotension
  • pachygyria
  • paralysis
  • paraneoplastic polyneuropathy
  • paraplegia
  • parasitic meningitis
  • paresthesia
  • parkinson's disease
  • pellagra
  • periodic paralysis
  • peripheral autonomic neuropathy
  • peripheral neuropathy
  • periventricular lesion
  • periventricular leukomalacia
  • periventricular mass
  • peroneal muscular atrophy
  • peroneal nerve lesion
  • petit mal status
  • pinched nerve
  • pituitary adenoma
  • plagiocephaly
  • plantar nerve lesion
  • plexitis
  • plexopathy
  • poliodystrophia cerebri
  • poliomyelitis
  • polymicrogyria
  • polyneuropathy
  • popliteal nerve lesion
  • post traumatic seizures
  • post-concussion syndrome
  • post-traumatic amnesia
  • post-traumatic headache
  • primary progressive aphasia
  • problems with smell and taste
  • progressive multifocal leukoencephalopathy
  • progressive muscular atrophy
  • progressive supranuclear palsy
  • pseudobulbar palsy
  • pseudotumor cerebri
  • psychogenic nonepileptic seizures
  • pure autonomic failure
  • quadriplegia
  • radial nerve lesion
  • radiculopathy
  • reflex neurovascular dystrophy
  • reflex sympathetic dystrophy
  • restless legs syndrome
  • schwannomatosis
  • segmental dystonia
  • sensory impairment
  • sensory problem with head
  • sensory problem with neck and trunk
  • sensory problems with limbs
  • slurred speech
  • spasticity
  • spinal cord diseases
  • spinal muscular atrophy
  • spinocerebellar degeneration
  • spinocerebellar diseases
  • staring
  • status epilepticus
  • stereotypic movement disorder
  • subacute spongiform encephalopathy
  • subdural hematoma
  • subdural hemorrhage
  • syphilis
  • syringobulbia
  • syringomyelia
  • tarsal tunnel syndrome
  • temporal sclerosis
  • tension headache
  • tetany
  • tetraplegia
  • tibial nerve lesion
  • tic disorder
  • tingling
  • torsion dystonia
  • torticollis
  • tourette syndrome
  • toxic myoneural disorders
  • toxoplasmosis
  • transient blindness
  • transient cerebral ischemia
  • transient ischemic attack
  • transient limb paralysis
  • transient monocular vision loss
  • transverse myelitis
  • traumatic brain injury
  • tremor
  • trigeminal nerve disease
  • trigeminal nerve injury
  • trigeminal nerve palsy and paresis
  • tuberculosis of meninges
  • tuberous sclerosis
  • ulnar nerve
  • ulnar nerve compression
  • unsteady gait
  • uremic encephalopathy
  • vagal nerve disorders
  • vagus nerve disease
  • vascular malformations of the brain
  • vascular myelopathy
  • vasculitic neuropathy
  • venezuelan equine encephalomyelitis
  • venous sinus thrombosis
  • ventriculomegaly
  • vertebrobasilar insufficiency
  • vertigo
  • vestibular function test abnormal
  • viral meningitis
  • visual evoked potentials
  • vitamin b deficiency
1600 E. Jefferson St.
A Level
Seattle, WA 98122